Disconnected

Hiding behind keystrokes of rhymes
Distorted enough to not be mine
The troubles & worries in me
Just enough to be set free

Must you be so connected
Into the vast inter-web
Falling victim to prey
Wasting your days away

Through numbers of 0’s & 1’s
A new breed is about to come
Each bling, beep, and buzz
Can’t ignore the static for fun

Drowning out the real world
Skewed time line
Corrupted
Sucked into a vortex of lines

No more stealing said time
During hours of mine
Hanging the “Do Not Disturb” sign
The fallacies created, not so sublime

Must you be so DISconnected
Into the vast inter-web
Falling victim to prey
As you don’t see me walk away

Unplug & come out to play

7 thoughts on “Disconnected

  1. Not going to happen….we all depend on it too much. It is also a shield…you don’t hide behind your rhyme, you reveal your most intimate thoughts, but you feel safe doing that because nobody SEES you.

    • exactly~~ false sense of security…..My love for writing started as a child and waned during my child rearing days….and past 5 yrs I’ve picked it back up. Honestly, if it wasn’t so therapeutic I probably wouldn’t share. To let others know, in their madness, they are not alone.

      • I’ve read a few of the comments….you really have helped people. It’s a plus that you get a therapeutic benefit from it….and I appreciate your poetry as well.

Leave a comment